RSS Feed

Big Meal Sunday

When we are busy during the week I like to make more complicated meals on Sunday. I have more time and usually there is a housewife marathon on that I can watch.

This Sunday I made Baked Angel Hair with Eggplant.

I usually use Giada’s recipe but this week I changed up some things because I was not sure I wanted all the puff pastry.

1 eggplant

1 jar spaghetti sauce (I used Barilla)

1/3 cup olive oil plus another 1/3 cup

1 lb Spicy Turkey sausage

1/3 cup red dry wine (I used cupcake wine)

red pepper flakes

2  cloves of  minced garlic (or 1 teaspoon)

8 ounces linguini

2 sheets puff pastry

First I begin boiling water for the linguini, because I have no patience for that kind of thing and this way I am doing something else instead of waiting for a pot to boil. Add the linguini when you are ready.

I cut the eggplant into 1 inch cubes and divided into 2 different groups for sautéing.

I used the first 1/3 cup olive oil and sautéed with 1 teaspoon of garlic and salt and peppered to my liking.

It is very pretty and smells delish.

Repeat with the other group of eggplant. I divide into two groups because I just do not have a pan big enough to do it together. After you have sauteed both groups, reserve in a bowl.

Using the same pan, add 1/3 cup red wine and brown the turkey sausage. I use spicy because it gives it a little kick.

After meat has been cooked, add to the bowl of eggplant and add the jar of marinara (or spaghetti sauce).

At this point I add a little Habanero Tabasco Sauce.

If it’s Rich he adds like 6 drops, I usually stay around 3.

I mix everything together, noodles, meat, sauce, eggplant. Sometimes I shred some spinach and throw it in there but I did not today.

I also did not use cheese today because I was trying to cut out some of the calories and I thought this was an easy way.

I covered the dish with puff pastry, I used about a sheet and a half and saved the rest for something else.

Bake at 375 for about 45 minutes.

In order to make it extra crispy I put the broiler on for 5 minutes but today I got a little scattered and it got a little bit burnt but still delish!

xoxo

Emily

PS I am half a mile ahead of Rich. WOOOO HOOOO 🙂

2 responses »

  1. That meals sounds and looks very yummy! I kinda like the extra crispy parts, I always want to eat those corners of the meals I make. I am going to save your recipe and attempt to make it for my man when he gets home after this summer 🙂

    XO Terri!
    http://www.teresalifeandstyle.blogspot.com
    Check out my giveaway – visit my blog to enter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

