RSS Feed

Happy Monday

Now I do not normally like to brag…but after the brownies I made yesterday I must toot my own horn.

For a little background: I am not a baker.

I tend to experiment with ingredients. This does not always lead to yummy tasting treats.

I once made black bean brownies that I am sure ruined all my friends’ opinions of me as a baker.

I have finally learned that sometimes things just have to be unhealthy. I still try to balance everything out: sometimes I use applesauce, diet soda or whole wheat flower. I always use egg whites (but that’s cause the whole egg kinda grosses me out).

These brownies saved me and I sent most of them away with my family, so they are not unhealthy for me 🙂

Brownies

1 stick butter (melted)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup flour ( I used whole wheat)

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup mixed chocolate morsels ( White chocolate and semi sweet)

or you could use nuts

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1/3 cup cocoa

1/4 teaspoon salt

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9 inch square pan.

2. Mix together butter, sugar and vanilla in a bowl. Add eggs; beat well with spoon. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt and gradually add to egg mixture. Fold in chocolate. Pour evenly into pan.

3. Cook for 20 minutes. Let cool. Add frosting and leave in fridge for a few minutes to let set.

Frosting

3 tablespoons butter (softened)

3 tablespoons cocoa

1 tablespoon light corn syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup powdered sugar

1 to 2 cups powdered sugar

Beat together butter, cocoa, corn syrup, and vanilla. Add powdered sugar and milk. At this point Rich tears himself away from the US open and adds way more powdered sugar then really necessary and then tries to take credit for my brownies.

Rich and I are getting ready for a long road to Pennsylvania and New York. What do you like to do when stuck in the car ALL day long?

xoxo

Emily

2 responses »

  1. Your black bean brownies were not bad! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

