RSS Feed

St. Mary’s wrap up

Rich and I came to see my Grandy this weekend.

He lives in the middle of no-where Pennsylvania, otherwise known as St. Mary’s.

St. Mary’s is a little town about an hour north-west of Penn State.

My mom has been packing us up, and driving up every summer since I can remember. Up until this year I flat out refused to drive there anymore (airplane for me please!). I am not a good car rider. It makes my antsy.

I think I asked Rich what was new at least 100 times. I got the same answer 100 times. Yes, I was aware he was driving.

Once we made the journey I was happy to be here. I love spending time with my Grandy. He is simple to hang out with: grab a book, watch tv, play with the dogs, and eat yummy food.

*Rich throwing apples for Torre*

Sometimes he tells us funny stories from when he was in the army, or funny stories about my mom. But most the time we just enjoy being in the same house.

One reason I said no fast food on the way up was because I knew once we were up we would be eating out. Grandy loves loves loves to take us out to eat.

The first night we were here we went to Merlin’s. We are obsessed with Merlin’s. It is pretty basic restaurant food, but they make the best pies EVER.

I got a yummy greek salad. It was my compromise: I knew that I would want pie with ice cream.

They had a lot of  pies up for grabs but we decided on a piece of apple pie,  brownie pie and Grandy got a strawberry rhubarb pie.

His obsession with strawberry rhubarb is second only to my obsession with anything key lime.

We have had a really relaxing weekend and soon we will be packing the pups back up and heading over to East Islip for the remainder of the summer.

xoxo

Emily

3 responses »

  1. Sounds like an awesome trip 🙂

    Oh and thanks for linking me on your sidebar! You are super sweet!

    xo Terri
    http://www.teresalifeandstyle.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. No prob lady! I love looking at your outfits so I figured my friends would too!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: End of Summer Blues « Will Run 4 Dinner

Leave a Reply

