RSS Feed

Some friends on facebook were talking about beginning running and it made me think about how I started running. I tried to add some pictures so that people get through the whole story without thinking about bunnies:

I have  always been an athlete.I played soccer up until my junior year of college. I ran track in high school but mostly just the short distances. I am pretty fast for a white girl. But I never put in the real effort to train for long distances.

When I quit soccer I stopped doing anything physical. I had my degree to worry about and I was in the middle of my final internship teaching. This lack of movement led to weight gain, self esteem issues and lack of motivation.

Flapjack Festival 2009

 My mom, being a good parent, recognized the shape I was in and signed me up for a run in  local 5k. I went for 2 reasons:

1. My mom signed me up and paid for me.

2. You got all you can eat flapjacks afterwards.

What can I say food motivated me at that point.

I was completely shocked at how horrible I felt the entire way. My mom had to slow down and basically beg me to finish. And then she beat my time by a good 5 minutes and I love my mom, but I was embarrassed. It took my 40 minutes and I felt awful.

It wasn’t so much the time, even though the year before I was running 2.5 in under 20 minutes  for soccer. It was the way I felt.

I was sluggish, unmotivated and I could barely walk the next day.

It did not happen over night.

I did not suddenly LOVE running.

But I did decide that running was best for me. After awhile it made me feel good.

I made it a priority. I met my mom, and our friend Michele on Mondays and Wednesdays and began slowly building my running skills.

It is so hard to blow off running when you know other people are waiting on you.

As I began to enjoy it more I signed up for more races. I even placed in my age group a couple times.

I am pretty sure I was the only one in my age group at this one. 

And prolly this one too. 

And finally the day came where the unthinkable happened.

I thought I hear about these half marathon thingies…I could do one of those.

How hard could it be?

Yea I am an idiot.

I signed up for the Disney Princess Half Marathon. If I was not motivated before the 150 dollars I just spent helped.

 I then spent 9 horrendous weeks training. My main goal was to actually run 13 miles before the day of the race. I wanted to mentally know I could do this because I had done it before.

My goal for the Princess Half Marathon was 2 hours and 15 minutes.

And I did make it.

By like 2 seconds.

And really

if I hadn’t cried the whole last mile I prolly could have run it a little faster.

Me with some sweet faces after the Princess

Long story short:

I like running.

No I am not super fast at long distance, and no I am not photogenic when I run ( I hate those people) but I finish and each time I get a little bit better.

xoxo

Emily

ps. None of these pictures are from my first race. I am pretty sure I spent the time afterward puking my guts out and who wants to take a picture of that?

One response »

  1. I want to start running again… bad relationship equaled snacks and I gained weight, when I knew I needed to love me again I started working out and running… then I lost nearly 30 lbs and gained the best boyfriend I have ever known… Running is awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

