RSS Feed

Chili Dude

I know I know it is 8 bajillion degrees out right now.

But I woke up for the past 3 days needing chili. No, not wanting it, the drama queen deep inside me needed a big bean and meat filled spoonful of chili.

Yummmmmm-e. 

It made my heart and belly very, very happy.

While this was a crock-pot meal and I cannot call it my own cause I did not “cook” it, I did prepare the ingredients.

These onions took longer to chop then the chili to cook.

Rich watches A LOT of Anne Burrell and is insistent that if he does not make his knife cuts perfectly she will come to the house and hurt him.

We have serious vanity issues.

Browning meat and tripping over dogs just a typical day in the life

Crock-pot Chili

1/2 of 1 onion, finely chopped (Anne Burrell will hurt you if they aren’t)

2 cloves minced garlic

1/2 lb spicy turkey sausage

1/2 lb ground turkey

1 can red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can dark red kidney beans (drained and rinsed)

1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes

1/2 cup shredded zucchini

1/2 cup shredded carrots

1/4 cup ketchup (we used tabasco hot & spicy ketchup)

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp dried mustard

1. In a large skillet, cook the onion and garlic over medium-low heat, stirring until softened.

2. Add sausage and turkey meat and cook until browned. You can drain the excess or use it….I do not judge.

3. Place the meat mixture in the crock-pot and add remaining ingredients. I do not drain the tomatoes because I enjoy a more soupy chili.

4. Stir well to combine, cover, cook on high for 3 to 4 hours (or high for 6-8 hours).

5. Top with the toppings you enjoy. I am mean and will not buy real cheese so Rich settled for onions, and looked at me like I was crazy when I offered sour cream.

Enjoy with a cold beer or in our case water cause I forgot to buy beer.

xoxo

Emily

ps I am on day 3 of NO soda (my only form of caffeine). I am slightly cranky but it will get better right? Please tell me it gets better.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Frito Pie « Will Run 4 Dinner

Leave a Reply

