RSS Feed

Secret Ingredient Brisket

This is my mama.

She is pretty fabulous.

And she did spend 20 plus hours in labor with me.

What can I say – perfection takes time.

I tend to tease her (a lot).

Especially about her cooking.
I never really remember her fixing meals-unless it was viola bag meals or sausage gravy and biscuits.

I mean it could have been that she was driving me to and from soccer 4 nights a week for 10 years.

But needless to say everyone has that one favorite meal that their mama makes. You know the one that no one else can quite make just like mama?

And while viola bags-with the chicken picked out in my vegetarian days-is pretty awesome, her brisket is DA’ BOMB!

So as a tribute to my wonderful mama go make this brisket. She is even giving away her secret ingredient.

And yes I do eat everything in a bowl.

Secret Ingredient Brisket

1 3-4 lb brisket-with fat trimmed

1 medium onion-sliced

3/4 cloves minced garlic

8 to 10 small ginger snap cookies (4 to 5 if cookies are large)

1 bottle chili sauce

S & P to taste

Paprika to taste

1. Line bottom of crock-pot with onions, rub brisket with s, p and p and place in crock-pot.

2. Spread cookies and garlic on top, and pour chili sauce over the top. To get the last dredges of chili sauce out of the jar, use a bit of red wine (this was a hint hint wink wink moment from my mama).

3. Cook in crock-pot on high for 3 to 4 hours, and low for 6 to 8. The longer you cook it the more tender it becomes.

xoxo,

Emily

ps Yes I am going to try and make DA BOMB come back. Or maybe I should focus all my energy on making fetch work since Gretchen couldn’t.

pps you need to go read the bloggess. She is ridic.

Leave a Reply

