RSS Feed

The most wonderful time of the year

Today is Rich’s birthday!

Happy happy birthday to my other half and monkey groomer.

My birthday gift to him was allowing him to do his second favorite thing- golf all day.

I am just assuming that it is his second favorite thing- obviously his first would be spending time with me.

So while he golfed all day long- I baked my butt off.

I found a recipe for Jack Daniels cupcakes that I just had to try.

About half way through I realized that I was drunk off the fumes.

Jack Daniel’s cupcakes

2 cups of flour

3/4 cups cocoa powder

2 cups sugar

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup applesauce

1/2 cup jack daniels

1 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

1. Mix dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.

2. In a separate bowl combine applesauce, jack daniel’s, buttermilk, and vegetable oil.

3. Combine dry and wet ingredients and whisk together until smooth.

4. Use a 1/4 cup to spoon mixture into cupcake tin.

5. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until cake bounces back when lightly touched. Let cool completely.

Whisky Ganache

16 ounces good quality dark chocolate chips

3/4 cup heavy whipping cream

2 tbsp unsalted butter- softened

1/4 cup Jack

1. Place dark chocolate chips in a bowl that has a lid.

2. Bring cream to an almost boil, then pour over the chocolate and cover for about 2 minutes. Uncover and stir until smooth.

3. Add butter, jack and mix until smooth. Cool completely.

Whiskey Buttercream

1 lb butter – I died when I saw this…Paula Dean would be proud of me

1 package of white chocolate instant pudding mix

2 cups of the ganache- the stuff you just made…took me a while to figure it out

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup heavy cream

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1. In a stand mixture beat butter and pudding mixture about five minutes.

2. Turn off mixture, add ganache, cocoa powder and cream. Beat again for about 5 minutes.

3. Add powdered sugar slowly and more Jack if needed.

I had leftover ganache so I topped the cupcake with ganache and then topped with the buttercream.

My house smells like a bar.

A delicious, delicious bar.

xoxo,

Emily

Leave a Reply

