RSS Feed

Spicy Sweet Potato Boats

My foot is still bothering me and instead of risking an ice bath I decided to stick to a arm circuit so that I could still get credit for my activity in my virtual boot camp.

Since I am the unluckiest person alive I am sure I will not be winning the cash prize at the end. But it was still a fun workout and one I could do at home. My favorite kind.

 It also allowed me to be the one to clean up the chocolate milk that exploded in our trashcan.

Lucky me.

 Being home meant I could monitor the sweet potatoes that had to cook for a whole hour.

So much longer then I think sweet potatoes should take.

It was worth it in the end.

But for some reason there was leftover filling.

I never understand how that happens.

**Photo taken after I ate most of the leftover filling**

Spicy Sweet Potato Boats (serves two or four depending if you have a salad)

2 sweet potatoes

3 spicy turkey sausage links

1/2 cup sweet onion

1/2 cup chopped fresh spinach

1 tbsp butter

1/4 teaspoon sage

1 wedge laughing cow swiss cheese

1/2 cup of Pepper Jack Cheese

S&P to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375. Cover a baking sheet with foil and top with a wire rack. Pierce sweet potatoes with a knife multiple times and place on top of wire rack. Cook for 35-60 minutes. -Mine took the whole 60.

2. While cooking remove sausage from casing and cook in skillet until brown.  Remove sausage with a slated spoon, leaving grease to cook onions.

3. Add 1 tbsp butter to sausage grease, add onions, sage and spinach and let cook for about 5 minutes or until onions are golden. Remove from heat, I just poured it in with the sausage.

4. When sweet potatoes are cooked and slightly cooled, cut in half length wise and spoon out potato filling into a bowl. I left a small layer so that the skin would not collapse. I also used a oven mitt to hold the pototoes because I am impatient. Use a fork or potato masher to mash.

5. Add wedge of laughing cow – the original recipe calls for sour cream and that sounded yuck so I did not use it- and mix until incorporated. Add sausage, and onion mixture, S&P to your liking. Put mixture back into the sweet potato skin.

6. Set oven to broil. Top boats with Pepper Jack Cheese, and broil for 4 minutes or until cheese is bubbly.

I am not sure how the hubby will like it but he went weeknight golfing so his opinion is moo.

Leave a Reply

